My Journey to Being a Connected Learner

“Be a learner first, educator second.  Never stop learning”

In a short amount of time, and after a change of careers, I find myself in my second year of Principal-ship (beginning while off on maternity)  with  4 growing boys needing a lot of my attention.  I often feel like I am “play acting”, kind of faking it until I hopefully make it.  Over the last few months, I have had the privilege of being in my school a lot and have been focusing on relationships and trying to learn with others, but that focus has left me feeling isolated and disconnected from what is going on with other educators, and leaders.

This week, despite still being in my school and missing out on #SeLNO with George Couros as the Keynote Speaker, I was able to connect through Twitter and listen to George using Google Hangout (thanks @kmaenpaa30) and Periscope (thanks @wallwins).  Perhaps things do happen for a reason, because I think that I have hit a turning point in my learning, and I have taken a big step to becoming a connected learner – something that I have been talking about but have not really tried to do.  As I sit here trying to come up with the perfect “first blog post”, I’m reflecting on how much I have learned over the last few days, and how connecting with others digitally, I now realize that “isolation is a choice we make” (right George), and success is a lot of hard work.  I was able to connect and learn with many amazing people, most of who love education and inspire others with their dedication, thinking and sharing  (special thanks to @fryed for the encouragement).

I re-learned about the power of mindset, the importance of modelling, and the necessity in becoming an innovative educator.  Questions like “would I like to be a student in my class/school” made me think, and ideas like “learning is messy, and success is hard work” reassured me that maybe I didn’t make a mistake, and that in learning with others, maybe I can make a difference and contribute to this amazingly connected digital world of learners and leaders, all with the ultimate goal of empowering our students to become global citizens and life long learners in this crazy world.

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Connected Learners and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Journey to Being a Connected Learner

  1. Pingback: Day 7: Follow Friday & Virtual Conferenes | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. Kim Figliomeni says:

    Thanks Colleen! Hopefully we will cross paths sooner than later. I’m inspired by all the educators. like yourself, who share your thoughts and take time to question and reflect. I appreciate the support!

    Like

  3. colleenkr says:

    Congratulations on your first blog post! It’s too bad that we weren’t able to connect at #SeLNO, but I would love to have the chance to meet you “f2f” some time. I’m so glad that you were able to take advantage of some aspects of the conference via technology — it was so wonderful that Katie & Stacey shared our experiences!
    I look forward to reading many more posts. Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

