It’s all about Balance – easier said that done right?

“Balance ~ never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart”

Some days you feel like you’ve got things figured out, and other days you don’t.  Today was one of those days – there were ups, there were downs, and I found myself emotionally drained with negativity and the needs of others, unsure of my effectiveness at being an instructional leader , upset with myself for not having patience with my 4 busy boys, and ready to crawl under the covers and wave the white flag.

After taking a few minutes to feel sorry for myself (and apologizing to my kids for being so crabby), I thought about some of the things I have learned lately, and I took some time to read words of wisdom from some amazing leaders who inspire me with their dedication, wisdom and willingness to share their journey (@fryed, #ossemooc, @gcouros).  I took the isolation that I was feeling, and I reached out to my connected community and set aside my feelings of doubt in not being what others need and spent some time connecting.  I reflected on our #mysteryskype today with our Gr. 1/2 class, I thought about our new student who comes to us with many mysteries and sadness, and I appreciated the positive interactions I had with some amazing educators and students in our school.

The Truth about Success

The Truth about Success

At #selno, George Couros shared this picture and it stuck with me – success is hard work; and with hard work comes the need for balance.  But how do you find that balance – the balance of being there for others professionally, for others personally and for yourself so that at the end of the day, you know that you tried your best, that you hopefully impacted someone, and that you were able to connect with something that pushed you farther.  Something I have learned lately is that we are all human with strengths as well as flaws – but we can be very unforgiving and judgmental without realizing how it impacts others. How do we achieve a balance so that we are not affected by the challenges, but rather motivated by them; how do we show others that relationships are important and not be impacted when others are critical, and how do we balance work, home, personal, professional, social and self?

There are so many positive, inspiring things that can happen in a day, and there are people that leave joy and inspiration long after they’ve gone, but how do you hold on to that when faced with challenges, upset people, and feelings of doubt in being an effective instructional leader, a friend, a wife, a mother …

“Problems arise in that one has to find a balance between what people need from you and what you need for yourself”

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Connected Learners, Fostering Effective Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s all about Balance – easier said that done right?

  1. Kristina Asselstine says:

    Thanks for your thoughts on balance. This is something that I think we all struggle with at times.

    Like

  2. fryed says:

    Educators are the hardest working people I know. It seems that the “work” is never done. There is no defined day, no end to the role. There is always more to be done and people who will tell you that you have not done enough.

    Within education, I know that the role of the Principal is the toughest. You are managing everything about the school, that place where our most precious beings, our children, spend so much of their lives.

    But experience tells me that the role of the Principal is always the most rewarding. You have the tools to shape the learning environment and you have the 1:1 contact with the children whose life trajectories can be changed by your work.

    It’s tough, grinding, relentless work. A wise person told me to know my beliefs hard and to the core because when everything else weighs in equally, it is those beliefs that will drive decisions.

    I know that I have been on the wrong side of the “balance”. I prefer now to think of it as alignment. I try to carve out personal time first, then let work fill in the spaces around that, but it doesn’t always work.

    What does work, is being in the company of others who are trying to figure this out too. Being connected allows you to find the people you need to help you up your game. Being a Principal can be a terribly isolating experience, but connecting with other principals helps you to see the big picture, and helps you to keep the momentum going to make your school the best place for your children to learn.

    Doing great work pushes us into a roller coaster of doubt and fatigue combined with wonder, curiosity and amazement. Ride those highs as long as you can, and remember that all the lows are a temporary result of pushing yourself to your limits. Take care of you so you can take care of others, and reach out for that support that is there. Together we can make a difference.

    #CTW

    Donna

    Like

Leave a Reply

