Connecting When It Matters

How well do we really know our students?  How well do our students really know us? Here I am at 5:30am in the morning, still up, still active, still at school – not able to go to sleep.  Am I worrying about my school, am I worrying about our students, am I wondering how I might connect…

Actually, no – I’m supervising Student Council’s Wake-a-thon, and along with me and another teacher, there are 28 students running around the school, playing games, trying challenges and spending some quality time together.

308 325

At the Wake-a-thon, 90% of our Gr. 4-8 school population turned out, and raised over $1000 in support of our local Church Roof project for the opportunity to spend 12 hours (from 8:00pm to 8:00am) at school.  Throughout the night, I have had the chance to just be with the students, to watch how they interact with each other, to learn to dynamics that work and to witness the bonding and fun that a group of 30 people can have.

341 350

Leading up to the Wake-a-thon, I was worried how the night would turn out, how I would stay awake, and how students would react when they were tired and overstimulated.  The night has turned out better then expected, and I have watched a group of kids from 4 – 8, play together, work together and create memories together.  From hide & seek, to dodgeball, to jello eating contests, I have been a part of a great night, really getting to know more about our students and supporting them as they planned, organized and participated in an amazing night!  How lucky am I!

278 268 246249

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

