“30 Days To Getting Connected” Challenge

As a leader and a learner, I have come to realize that I learn best with and from others. In completing my Principal Qualifications (PQP), the area that I have chosen to focus my Practicum on is “Being a Connected Leader and Learner”.  I have come to value the educators who so willingly share what they think, know and wonder, and from this sharing, I have learned the importance of giving back.Connected Learners

Becoming a Connected Leader & Learner

Over the next 30 days or so, I am inviting you to participate in OSEMOOC’s (Ontario System and School Leaders Edtech MOOC) “30 Days to Getting Connected” series with me, which will take just 10 minutes of your day! Together, we will learn what it means to be connected, how you can build your PLN (Professional Learning Network), and you will meet a lot of amazing Educators who  willingly share and challenge each other’s thinking.OSSEMOOC

Starting on Wednesday, November 25th, I will spend 10 minutes a day to be connected – and I invite you to join in and leave your thoughts or ideas on my blog posts.  If you use twitter, I encourage you to “tweet” your learning.  Together, let’s learn the importance of being connected – for some, the change in technology and innovation may seem overwhelming, but for others, it has become a tool and way to open up practices and learning

Bookmark this blogbookmark the OSSEMOOC page – commit to 10 minutes a day and together we will be stronger!

“Isolation is a choice we  now make. We have access to not only information, but each other. We need to tap into that.” – George Couros

Comment below to say you are in, follow along at your own pace and share this “challenge” with others who you think might like to become connected.

Find me on twitter @kfilane if you are there. I am using #connectPQP to share my posts and learnings – if you are new and just learning, do whatever is comfortable – just start with 10 minutes a day and together we will connect and together we will learn!

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected, Changing to Learn, Connected Learners and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to “30 Days To Getting Connected” Challenge

  1. Kim Figliomeni says:

    Reblogged this on Becoming a Connected Learner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Terri Harmer says:

    Hi Kim!

    So it’s my second day in my new role….and what a great starting point for me to begin the day. Very inspiring! I am sensing a ginormous learning curve..but love to join you on this learning journey.

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Hi Terri – congratulations and welcome to the Principalship! I didn’t want to overwhelm you, but joining in and learning together would be wonderful and I thought this might be an opportunity you might like. It is a huge learning curve, but being connected helps and I look forward to learning with you – you never really feel like you know what you are doing so take that pressure off yourself and learn as you go.

      Like

  3. Drago Fila says:

    Looking forward to learning 🙂

    Like

  4. Mandy says:

    Looking forward to being a part of this journey Kim.

    Like

  5. Tania_3 says:

    Hi Kim! Boy you never cease to amaze me with your technology “know how” – I`m in! You have a very great way of pushing me further along this journey!

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      We’ll push each other and learn together – there is a whole world of passionate educators out there who are so willing to share – and it we all connect think of what we can learn!

      Like

  6. Gregg Williamson says:

    Looking forward to learning more about “connecting” and “learning together”. Count me in!

    Like

  7. janmurphy1 says:

    Hmm…so very interesting…very excited to connect and learn…I’m all in!

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Thanks for being all in! I’m excited that other people are interested in my thinking and desire to connect and learn together

      Like

  8. nickimc40 says:

    Hi Kim, I appreciate your blog post as it reminds us that if we are feeling isolated, we can do something about it!!! It also makes the notion of being a learner the “norm”! Looking forward to learning with and from you and to our conversations! (Thanks for posting a reply on my blog site – I am just waiting for the book to arrived- anxiously!!!) Nick

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’m so glad you are interested in learning together – I always love your ideas and ways of thinking and am so excited to connect with others – thanks for the comment!

      Like

  9. Pingback: 30 Days to Getting Connected – Start TODAY!! | Ontario School and System Leaders Edtech MOOC

  10. Sharla says:

    Hi Kim, I am in! Looking forward to learning with and from others:)

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’m so excited to learn together – knowing you are sharing in the learning and connecting will be amazing because I value your thoughts!

      Like

  11. Lindsay Costa says:

    I’m in! Can’t wait to see where this project leads you (and us) in the learning of today’s education system! The impact will be far reaching and have a lasting impression.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kerry Desjardins says:

    So excited to start tomorrow with our whole staff at the Staff Meeting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’m so grateful to you as my mentor and colleague to support and challenge me – thanks for sharing this with your staff and starting off the learning journey together!

      Like

  13. sgroia says:

    Hi Kim, I’d like to join you on this journey. I am an elementary teacher currently seconded to the role of Student Work Study teacher, Looking forward to “getting connected”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’m looking forward to connecting and learning with you. I was a SWST when the role was first introduced and I loved the opportunity – being a SWST changed me as an educator, and seeing things from the eyes of the student was inspiring and a great learning experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. 5acez says:

    K…this is awesome…count me in the discussion

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Looking forward to learning with you John – if you “Follow blog via Email” (near the top on the right hand side), you will get email notifications when I put up new posts, which will be your reminder to go on and connect 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

