Day 2: What Are Other Educators Thinking

Day 2: What Are Other Educators Thinking? #connectPQP
(Click the link below to participate then read this blog)

cropped-ossemooc-title

Blogging is one way that many Educators share their learning, their experiences and their wonderings.  Over the past year, I have started following different educators, and I am inspired by what they share and how honest they are about the successes, challenges and thoughts they have about learning.

blogging-quotes-66               blogging          5yearBloggingQuotes1

I love to read other people’s ideas, but I am not always confident in my own to share them.  Over this past year, I have started to follow some amazing educators, and they have modeled for me, the importance of sharing, connecting, creating and inspiring.  With hesitation, I started my blog, Being a Connected Leader and Learner, realizing that not many people might read it, but it was a chance for me to reflect and refine what I was thinking and to share my thoughts with others – it was a risk to put my thoughts out there for anyone to read, but by pushing past my comfort, I realized that if someone connected to what I shared, it was worth the risk.

Some blogs that have really impacted me as a learner are:

The Principal of Change –  George Couros   @gcouros

Learning About Learning – Donna Miller Fry  @fryed

Endless Possibilities – Jennifer Casa Todd  @jcasatodd

I don’t always have the time I would like to follow the many blogs that I come across, but a few things I do to stay connected are:

  • bookmark the blogs in a folder on my Bookmarks Bar so when I have some time, I remember which ones I want to go to
  • follow the educators on twitter as they often “tweet” when they have posted a new blog
  • sign up for email notifications for blogs (which I have going to the Update folder in my gmail – as opposed to the Primary folder where I have all my “important” and time sensitive mail going) – when I have some time, I go through this folder to see what I have missed (You can set this up by going to the setting tab in gmail and choosing “Configure Inbox” to include different folders so you don’t get overwhelmed with email in your Primary inbox)

blogs

What blogs have you found that have made a difference?
What tips do you have for keeping up with blogs?
Are there any blogs that you follow or have found that you want to share?

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected, Connected Learners and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 2: What Are Other Educators Thinking

  1. Pingback: Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. John says:

    In the “old days” we used to pick up the phone and call a trusted friend. I still do that – one on one connection is very powerful – it serves it’s intended purpose. Today we can find out what’s happening or how to possibly handle certain situations just by asking the question online – it also serves it’s intended purpose. I think the basic concept is that you trust your source – both the “old fashioned” way or the new and improved way.

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      One on one connection is so important John, and when you have those trusted friends, it sure is comforting and reassuring. I think that being online, it opens you up to sometimes make connections with others you may never have before, and that can be helpful sometimes as well. It’s always about mixing the old and the new.

      Like

  3. Tania_3 says:

    When I think back to the most difficult / rewarding moments in my career I think about the children who have the greatest struggles. We tend to some times hold back the greatest tool we may have in our toolkit – a gentle hand or pat on the back. Sometimes it’s simply a sideway hug that can fix the worst situation. Professionalism or fear of some legal reprisal tend to get in the way for some people. I firmly believe that being truly present, empathetic and reassuring are the greatest gifts we have to offer our students. George has great insight!

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I so agree Tania! As I posted my reflections I wondered if people would “gasp” at my “confession” but that moment just showed how important a gentle hand can be to teach empathy and compassion – we are teachers and learners, but at the end of the day “People may not remember exactly what you did, or what you said, but they will always remember how you made them feel”. Thanks for connecting!

      Like

  4. kemaenpaa says:

    A resource that I find useful (although I’m not a Principal) is the Connected Principals site. It is a website that serves as a one-stop shop for educators who are looking for administrators who blog. The site was created by George Couros and you can follow the Twitter conversation on (#cpchat).
    http://connectedprincipals.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

