Day 3 – What Can You Learn Online?

cropped-ossemooc-title

Day 3 – What Can You Learn Online?

learnted

With our busy lives, it seems like there is just never enough time.  Sometimes we can barely cover the basics, never mind find time to spend online.  Balance is such an important thing that a lot of people struggle with – but with some balance, things don’t always seem so overwhelming.

Over this last year, where I have slowly built up my connections and have gone back and forth feeling guilty, feeling connected, feeling overwhelmed, I have come to learn the value of 10 minutes here and there and using that time to go online (on Twitter, Facebook, Blogs).  When I find something that interests me, I use twitter to share my learning (and to “bookmark” the link so I can find it again).  I use the #connectPQP hashtag to narrow my shared learning – if you go to twitter and search #connectPQP you will see the things I have shared in my journey to connect.

mindset

Mindshift is one site that  I can always find articles and resources that impact my learning.  Because I use Social Media (Facebook and Twitter), I have “liked” the Mindshift pages so I get reminders and see posts when a new article has been shared.

Edutopia is another site that I follow on Facebook, that I often find myself connecting with – I don’t actually usually make it to the site, but through Facebook and Twitter, I often find myself reading articles and sharing them with others.

Another one of my favourites is TED Talks: Ideas Worth Spreading  TED – Technology, Entertainment and Design) is a nonprofit global community devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less) – I also follow TED-Ed on Facebook which is more education based.  One of my favourite Ted Talks is Rita Pierson: Every Kid Needs a Champion .  There are Ted Talks for almost anything you are interested in

ted talks.png

What sites do you find yourself going to?  Where do you go when you are looking for ideas? I’d love you to share …

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 3 – What Can You Learn Online?

  1. Pingback: Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. John says:

    Ted is the best…Rita Pierson is awesome…Great way to start a staff meeting…try this one http://www.ted.com/talks/chimamanda_adichie_the_danger_of_a_single_story An great lesson for young and old. Reflect on our Canadian culture after viewing this one..

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Thanks for sharing Chimamanda Adichie – I loved her message; I would like to read one of her novels sometime. The idea of the power and danger of the single story is so true and a very important lesson we all need to hear – especially looking at our Canadian culture. I appreciate you taking the time to connect and share your learning 🙂

      Like

  3. nickimc40 says:

    I echo your sentiments… “feeling guilty, feeling connected, feeling overwhelmed”. I used to see a 30 minute late evening “down time” block of watching a bit of TV as part of my routine. Now however, that block is spent on Twitter or reading the blogs that I follow. For me, it is all about routine. I think that TV was my “go to” as my brain was trained for this – we did this as we grew up. Now however, it is a re-think about the notion that I can have interactive time with colleagues on a different screen and benefit myself…moving from a consumer (of TV) to a learner. I am re-training myself into different habits! Mr. Tamblyn describes his relationship with Twitter – he says that it is his “morning paper”. That sticks in my head.

    I still feel guilty when life gets so busy…and because there is just so much out there. I have appreciated the Ten Minute Work as there have been so many great links cited – many of which are on my radar or that I follow. It is reinforcing!!

    Thanks for learning together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

