Day 4: Listen While You Work

cropped-ossemooc-title

Day 4: Listen While You Work

listen

How often have you found yourself thinking that if only there were more hours in the day, or if only there were two of you, then maybe you could catch up.

I love to read, but I don’t always have a lot of time, and when I do find time, especially with more thought provoking educational resources, I often find myself falling asleep before I can get anywhere.  My stack of “to be read” books is vast and long – depending on what the priority of the day is, the pile changes regularly.

In my quest for balance and to have a healthy live style, I started buying books and resources in audio format (using Audible.com or iTunes) and I would listen to them while I walk or run on my treadmill, or I would play them in my car when I found myself travelling to meetings and different schools in my Coaching roles.  I was able to make it through a lot of books that I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to get through.  Some of my favourite and impactful reads are:

  • Mindset: The New Psychology of Success, Carol Dweck
  • Start With Why, Simon Sinek
  • Steve Jobs, Walter Isaacson
  • The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Steven Covey
  • The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything, Ken Robinson
  • Emotional Intelligence 2.0

Just recently, at our second Student Summit featuring Google with the EdTech Team, Michael Wacker and I were grabbing lunch after everyone had got there’s, and he made a comment that I must have read the book “Leaders Eat Last” since I was eating at the end.  I hadn’t (yet) but when I got home that night and googled it, I saw it was by Simon Sinek, who I have read before and love – guess what’s playing on my iPod right now?

burn and learn

Have you ever listened to podcasts while you work, or tried audiobooks? What do you recommend?

 

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 4: Listen While You Work

  1. Pingback: Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. John says:

    I’m a little partial to Steven Covey – The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Steven Covey – as I am a trained facilitator of the 7 Habits. I listened to the audio version as part of the training and it brought the program to life. Burn and learn is great…sometimes i think we need to burn and just reflect – such is balance.

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Yes, burn and just reflect is important too! There is always something more we could or should be doing, but being self-aware and knowing our limits is very important, and finding a balance is necessary for our well being.

      Like

  3. Tania_3 says:

    Hmmm… this is something I haven`t done yet. Although, when I really think about it, I have intentionally chosen to watch CBC Radio Canada en français and french radio to boost my vocabulary. So many things one can choose to do

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Yes that would work too Tania – there are always so many things to choose from and you need to choose what suits you best at the time.

      Like

  4. I listen to lots of material on Audible every day. Mostly I listen the the teachings on mindfulness by Pema Chodron – it gives me a very healthy perspective to start my day with a healthy perspective. Great to use Audible as a learning resource.
    Voxer at times has been a great learning resource, but you need a committed community who are willing to comment and discuss issues on-line.

    Like

  5. nickimc40 says:

    I love “burn and learn”! What a great notion! Kathleen inspired me to use podcasts – to the point where Kathleen and Katie confiscated my phone and actually put the Growing Leads podcasts on it. I love it as I have been travelling a lot and time is short now in my “new world”. My challenge is that I love to write notes so am always trying to remember key points that I want to share with others.
    Thanks for the learning! Keep “burning and learning”!!

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’ve used a lot of books, but I’ll have to look at using more podcasts! I am like you though, Nicki, I love to write notes and highlight so I find the challenge of remembering the key points to share with others something I struggle with – sometimes when I am driving by a spot on the highway, I will remember a key point that I heard way back that must have stuck in my head as I connected with it lol. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

