Day 8: Peeking Inside a Twitter Chat

cropped-ossemooc-title

Day 8: Peeking Inside a Twitter Chat

hashtag  tweets ocd

What is a twitter chat?

A Twitter tweet chat is a pre-arranged chat that happens on Twitter through the use of Twitter updates (called tweets) that include a predefined hashtag to link those tweets together in a virtual conversation.

You may see people you know tweeting about using a specific hashtag and using things like Q1, Q2 … and A1, A2… – (Q being the question and A being the answer). Using twitter chats, you can be part of a conversation where ideas are sharing, debated, and challenged depending on the topic.

A popular twitter chat you might see is #satchat, which is where educators use twitter on Saturday mornings to share each others’ thinking in rich conversation.

satchat.png

Some other resources to understanding twitter chats are:

https://blog.bufferapp.com/twitter-chat-101

10-Tips-for-Twitter-Chats.png

Have you ever participated in a twitter chat?

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 8: Peeking Inside a Twitter Chat

  1. Pingback: Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. Joy Brenzavich says:

    @kfilane
    I have recently began my twitter journey. I have referred to myself as a connector in terms of my engagement with twitter as I am an avid user of the like and retweet functions. Thanks for the learning, I am excited to move into engaging in the twitter chat world of learning

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I love the idea of being a connector Joy. When you follow people on twitter who you learn well with, seeing what they share is usually a good place to start because if something is important or interesting to you, it is probably an interest or important to others. Beginning with connecting is a great place to start, and once you get comfortable, then you can get deeper into the learning and share more of your thoughts, experience and ideas, which are valued by many. Thanks for learning with us – I always look forward to learning with you.

      Like

  3. John says:

    I think twitter chats are a great way for ppl to connect. I have yet to participate however may be interested in being part of one. At this time I prefer to read and learn with a sprinkling of sharing. What has been your experience?

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      I’ve followed a few twitter chats, but I haven’t posted much yet. I think the neat thing about it is that you can participate in a discussion and learn from others who willingly share their ideas and thoughts, and you begin to learn that your thoughts matter too. I like that you can also use that hashtag to go back and look at what was talked about or links that were mentioned well after the chat is over.

      Like

  4. nickimc40 says:

    Thanks for providing the etiquette for the twitter chats! I am often concerned about this type of thing so your post was timely and helpful. Can you clarify #3 for me?
    I have joined a number of chats (really appreciated the chats with Jim Grieve the ADM for Early Years) and have expanded my PLN as I ended up following engaged learners. There are times however, when I am a “consumer” of these chats and don’t put my ideas out there. This is a next step for me!
    Thanks for the learning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

