Day 9: Beginning to Share Content

cropped-ossemooc-title

Day 9: Beginning to Share Content

Top-Social-Book-marking

Social bookmarking websites are sites on which Internet users share their web pages, articles, blog posts, images, and videos for others to read, use and share.  Just like you might have a bookmark folder on your computer, using sites like those listed below saves the information not only for you, but for all of your followers.

10 Most Popular Social Bookmarking Websites of 2015 
(according to Brandwatch Blog)

  1. Twitter
  2. Pinterest
  3. Linked In
  4. StumbleUpon
  5. Delicious
  6. Digg
  7. Reddit
  8. Slashdot
  9. Newsvine
  10. Scoop It

Some of these I have heard of and use regularly (Twitter, Pinterest), some of them I have tried (LinkedIn, Delicious), and some I have seen but never tried (the rest).  The thing with social bookmarking and being connected is that there are some things you will learn about and use, and there are a whole lot of other things that you may have no idea how it works or why you might use it.  Sometimes it can be overwhelming with all the choices and things available, but knowing about different platforms, and learning about them either by asking others or playing with it on your own is a good way to figure out how if these tools work for you.

Twitter

One of the reasons I like twitter is that when I find an article I like or a resource, I tweet it so that 1) I can share it with others and 2) I save it for myself so I can go back and easily find the article or resource again.  Through twitter, I find resources, blogs, sharing and content that I would never find on my own.

Did you know … when you share a URL on Twitter

ie https://kfilane.wordpress.com/

or http://ww2.kqed.org/mindshift/2015/08/25/when-educators-make-space-for-play-and-passion-students-develop-purpose/

your twitter count (out of 140 characters) will be altered to 23 characters (it is shortened when displayed) so that you can also put words, mentions and hashtags in your tweet – I just learned that!

Pinterest

I haven’t spent a lot of time on Pinterest lately but I love Pinterest for the visual sharing and saving of things that I would never find on my own searching the internet.  You can use Pinterest for a wide variety of likes and topics, and if you are a visual learner I would recommend trying it.

What sites or “social bookmarking” sites do you use?  What sites would you like to learn more about or try?

Social-Media

 

 

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 9: Beginning to Share Content

  1. Pingback: Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds | Becoming a Connected Learner

  2. John says:

    Tell me more about twitter shortening the count….I’ve struggled with stopping at 140….so if my post or retweet is say 150 and shows (- and red) it will shorten it? There’s my learning for today. If this is the case then I won’t be shy about fully saying what I’d like.

    Like

    • Kim Figliomeni says:

      Hi John, from what I know, twitter will shorten URLs to 23 characters (as some of them can be quite long) but if you go over the 140 characters total on a tweet, it will not let you post it. You will have to shorten what you are saying or else blog about your ideas and use the URL shortener to direct us to your wisdom! lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

