Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds

cropped-ossemooc-title

Day 16: RSS Feeds

rss         rss-seat  images

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall” ~ Confucius

This quote seems to sum up things quite nicely for me lately.  I seem to be falling a lot, and I never seem to have enough time in the day for all that I need to do. Lately, I find myself apologizing for being behind in emails, for not getting back to people, for not getting to my kids before they fall asleep … I seem to be falling, but in falling you need to get back up – and each day is a chance to rise again.

Being connected is hard, keeping up with every thing going on not just in your immediate radius, but in that social world just at our fingertips – Twitter, Facebook, Blogging, Voxer, … can be overwhelming at times and you think, “I just don’t have the time!”

What I’ve learned from my own experiences, and from some very wise and connected educators (thanks @fryed) is that being an educator isn’t easy, but it’s also an opportunity to be a learner, and to connect in ways that were not possible just a short time ago.  In this connected world, there are so many people willing to share and connect and learn with that it absolutely amazes me. If you are all caught up, check out the OSSEMOOC Day 16 and learn how RSS Feeds can help you keep up with your favourite blogs and websites.

If you need a refresher and want to learn about being connected, take a look back through some of the topics we’ve covered over the past few months (it was only meant to be a short break at Christmas, but when you fall, get back up and rise again 🙂 and pick one or two areas to connect with – start small – but make sure you just start!

Day 1: Dedicating Time
Day 2: What are other educators thinking?
Day 3: What can you learn online?
Day 4: Listen while you work
Day 5: Twitter is where it’s happening
Day 6: Building your PLN
Day 7: Follow Friday & Virtual Conferences
Day 8: Inside a Twitter Chat
Day 9: Beginning to Share Content
Day 10: Pinterest
Day 11: What do we need from our PLN?
Day 12: A Deeper Look at Curation
Day 13: Curating with Scoop.It
Day 14: Twitter as a Curation Tool
Day 15: Commenting on Blogs

Over the last year, I have been learning how to connect, why it’s important to connect and how connecting can push your learning farther and faster then you realized it could.  I have developed relationships online, in person and with people I would never have found had I not made the effort to connect.  Although I still have so much to learn, I feel value in my journey, and I if I can inspire you, then I have done my job at being a learner, a leader and a connected educator!

 

 

 

 

About Kim Figliomeni

Principal ~ Digital Learner ~ wife of @hollywoodfilane ~ mother of 4 boys ~ life long learner ~ food fanatic ~ #LWT
This entry was posted in Being Connected, Connected Learners, Fostering Effective Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Becoming Connected – Day 16: RSS Feeds

  1. kemaenpaa says:

    I feel like you took the words out of my mouth for this post – the days seem to be getting shorter! I love this line: “start small – but make sure you just start.” I apologize for just reading these posts today, but I’m grateful that I took the time to catch up. Also, I just want to point out that this is the beauty of blogging: I wasn’t able to read this the day it was posted, but I can come back and visit it on my own time, when I’m ready to learn. Thanks again for the great share Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna Fry says:

    What a wonderful blog for Digital Learning Day! #DLDay

    You continue to have such a positive impact on learning in the north, and in Ontario. Thank you for continuing to model Digital Leadership!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

